The Scottsdale RSL Military Museum was officially opened by the Tasmanian State Treasurer, Hon. Peter Gutwein on the 9th October 2015 in front of 150 invited guests. The construction of the building began in January 2015.

The centrepiece is a Vietnam era Iroquois helicopter, these were known as a “Huey” by the troops in Vietnam. These helicopters were used extensively by the Australian troops during the Vietnam War.

There is also an extensive range of military memorabilia covering all wars from the Boer War to present day conflicts.

The museum is situated at 32A George Street, Scottsdale.

 

*** Christmas / New Year Opening Times ***

The museum will be open as follows over the festive season:

Thursday 24th December - CLOSED

Friday 25th December - CLOSED

Saturday 26th December - CLOSED

Sunday 27th December - CLOSED

Monday 28th December - OPEN

Tuesday 29th December - OPEN

Wednesday 30th December - OPEN

Thursday 31st December - CLOSED

Friday 1st January - CLOSED

Saturday 2nd January - CLOSED

 

*** The museum has now opened back up, post COVID-19.  Opening hours listed below. ***

 

    Monday: 11am - 3pm

    Tuesday: 11am - 3pm

    Wednesday: 11am - 3pm

    Thursday: 11am - 3pm

    Friday: 11am - 3pm

    Saturday: 11am - 3pm

    Sunday: 1pm - 3pm

 

If you wish to visit the museum outside of these hours, please phone ahead and we will do our best to accommodate you. 

For any enquiries, please phone: 6352 3193.